In Hindu tradition, chakras refer to the seven energy centers of the body.  These energy centers are represented by seven different colors of the spectrum and they have a deep physical, mental, emotional and spiritual effect on each person.

According to Hindu tradition, the seven chakra colors represent the balance of the body’s energy centers.  This is one of the reasons why these are used in color therapy – to re-balance and enhance the body’s energy centers and to stimulate the body’s own healing process.

This article aims to unravel the seven colors of chakra and their meanings.

1. Violet

This governs the crown chakra which is located at the top of the head.  It is closely related to the brain and it symbolizes beauty, creativity, inspiration, and ability to connect with our spiritual self.

2. Indigo

This color represents the third eye chakra which is positioned at the center of the forehead.  It symbolizes intuition, mysticism, understanding, imagination and our ability to think and make decisions.

It relates to our responsibility for our own lives.  It also allows us to see things from a perspective other than self-satisfaction or material success.

3. Blue

It represents the throat chakra and it is the symbol of self-expression, communication, speech, hearing, and truth.

Blue is the color of the spirit.  It has a pacifying effect on the mind and it helps to relax the nervous system.

4. Green

Green is the color that governs the heart chakra and it symbolizes our capacity to give and take love unconditionally.

5. Yellow

This color represents the solar plexus chakra and it symbolizes our ability to control our destiny.  It is also associated with our sense of self-worth, self-esteem and self-confidence.

Yellow energy has the power to connect us to our mental self.

6. Orange

It represents the sacral chakra and it symbolizes our creativeness, sexuality and self-respect.

Orange gives us the energy to connect to our personal senses.  It has the power to set us free from inhibitions and enable us to socialize and make friends with other people.

7. Red

Red governs the base chakra which symbolizes a person’s innate need for survival.  It is characterized by vitality, courage and self-confidence.  It gives us the energy to connect us to our physical self.